Model 4 neck p/u problem!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Model 4 neck p/u problem!

Okay so here's my question. My model 4 has the original Jackon p/u's. And I must admit I'm quite impressed with the h/b at the bridge, very hot...but the damned neck p/u is SUPER weak?? What is the problem?? I understand it is a single coil, but when i switch to the neck p/u its like my amp volume drops by almost 90%, with so little volume i can't make any further judgements considering tone either..... Now, was this an issue with all these single coils, that they're just weak in nature, or perhaps do you think there might be a wiring issue here?? I've taken the panel off the back but I can't make any sense considering I'm a newb when it comes to the entrails of the guitar.... ??? The volume drops considerably, which leads me to believe its a wiring issue perhaps...i don't think the difference should be that dramatic between the h/b and the s/c....any help would be awesome.....

Are you the guy I met at Willcutts in Richmond Ky with the model 4?
    The neck is a stacked single which means its actually a humbucker you may have a wiring issue or a broken wire to one coil of the pickup.
    There should not be a drastic drop in vol so it sounds like only 1/2 of the neck pickup is working
    Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Comment

Mine are sound weak to me in my model 6 and I have no wiring issues.

Comment

It should at least sound the same as the middle pickup. If theres a drop off from that then you have an issue.

Comment

Originally posted by straycat View Post
          Are you the guy I met at Willcutts in Richmond Ky with the model 4?
          The neck is a stacked single which means its actually a humbucker you may have a wiring issue or a broken wire to one coil of the pickup.
          There should not be a drastic drop in vol so it sounds like only 1/2 of the neck pickup is working