[Please Help]Bad sound with my jackson archtop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Please Help]Bad sound with my jackson archtop

i have my almost new franky jackson, full specs here http://www.jcfonline.com/threads/127...son-arched-top

im not an expert but i could build my own guitar and im very happy, everythings work and is ok with my guitar, but excepting this

please listen at 0:47 and 1:32 i play the 2 a 3 string

http://snd.sc/x5LleT

if you cant hear it please download it from here

http://www.mediafire.com/?ggr51b4g11mslcc

i recorded this with my podxt, it sounds terrible!! i dont know what to do, i ve tuned it, the bridge height is right, new ernie ball string ....

please forgive me for my bad english

thank you!
    Last edited by blackhatch; 03-18-2012, 04:36 PM.
    [SoUnDcLoUd]

Sounds like the strings are hitting the frets just slightly, or the locking nut locks might be worn. Put the locks from the new nut on the one that is on the neck.
    It may also be that the locking nut shelf is too low on that side, so you could shim that side up with a sliver of paper to see if it helps.
    I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Comment

How about pickup height? They might be a bit too high. I have experienced that with single coils, not really with humbuckers like you have. But it's worth checking. It also made me think of shimming the nut like Newc suggested. Does it only do it when you pluck the open string?
      2011 Godin Summit CT
      2002 Jackson Y2KV USA Flag import
      2006 Jackson DK2 TB
      1988 or 89 Ibanez RG 560
      2000 LTD H-307
      2003 LTD MH-301
      2011 PRS SE 245

Comment

Originally posted by Newc View Post