Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jackson DK2 and the middle pickup...

Hello to all!

I'm new in here, so a little introduction first.

I live in France, i've been playing guitar for more than 15 years but only recently bought an amazing Jackson DK2 in Black.

And I simply love it! It plays amazing, wonderful sound and i'm very happy with it! Coming from Fender Strar and a Gibson Les Paul it feels great to have an hot-rod guitar to shred all day.

Anyway, is it just me or do you guys find "problems" with the HSS configuration? I mean, with my picking technique i'm always "picking" the middle pickup, it seems the middle pickup is just too close to the rear humbucker... Just wanted to hear your experiences. Do you guys find the HSS configuration (the middle pickup) on the DK2 a little akward too in terms of placement? Do you all lower the middle pickup so that you do not pick it up? Did you somehow adjust your playing technique? Or is it just me?

The HH configuration of the DK2M seems a lot more "confortable" in terms of picking, but i really like those single coils...

Thank you all, this is great Jackson community!
    Jean
    Last edited by mnit1965; 04-20-2012, 05:08 AM.

It's been a while but I used to a own a DK2 with the HSS configuration and I can't say that I had a problem. What comes to mind for me is people have different playing styles and may hold their picks differently. Since I play generally fast metal stuff, I have a VERY small amount a pick exposed and attack at a slight angle. And depending on what string I'm picking on, changes where my pick is actually hitting the string. For example, the low E string (top of the guitar) I hit more close to the trem, and the high E string (bottom of the guitar) I hit the string right above the neck pickup. I basically do a diagonal towards the neck, it's less awkward for my picking hand, if that makes sense.

Comment