Jackson dk2m and floyd rose original

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jackson dk2m and floyd rose original

Hey guys! It's been awhile since I've participated on here. I lurk a lot but don't post much. I just wanted to share my dk2m I bought a couple of years ago and have put a lot of work into it. It originally was snow white but I changed it to matte black(actually covered it in vinyl), sanded the edges down to the wood as if it has natural binding and left a line of white on the edges. I love the way it turned out. I've been playing it with the vinyl on it since last July(2012) and this vinyl is indestructable and very protective. I bought it used a couple of years ago at Guitar Center for $299, beat to death, loaded with green dimarzios and green volume/tone knobs. It played like a dream though. I almost immediately took the dimarzios out to find that they were all electrical taped into place lol. Nice job man, whoever you were.
    So, I'm an active EMG guy and Loaded it with an 81/60. Best decision ever. I knew what to expect with the 81 but was new to the 60 and I have to tell you I have fell in love with that 60. It's a workhorse. Perfect for everything for me. And when I need that extra cut through the 81 never lets me down. However I would like to upgrade to the solderless system. Their old soldering system was a pain!
    I also put grover tuners on it(mini rotos), an original 50's press-in(not spring clip) tele brass input jack cup which is so clean looking, and just last night after seeing one of Dave Mustaine's new guitars with recessed strap buttons(I don't know why I or anyone else has never thought of this), well, I recessed them and it looks great. Not to mention it being way more durable. No more stress on the screws! It actually fits my body better too while standing. Kinda hugs me lol.