Hi New to the Forum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi New to the Forum

I am new to the Jackson forum. I just picked a 2006 GMG Jackson DXMG. This is my first ever Jackson guitar. I have played guitar for over 25 years, and I have used fender,Epiphone,Ibanez,Kramer,ESP guitars. I bought this used for $140. The headstock had a crack in it by the first tuner and went all the way to the back of the guitar. It is in getting repaired as I write this by a professional luthier. As I was tearing the guitar down like I always do when I buy a used guitar to give it a full clean up. I noticed the stock Jackson tuners, are not Gotoh, they are Jin Ho branded. This guitar was MIJ so why does it have Korean tuners one it? I have seen 1980's and 1990's MIJ Jacksons with these same tuners. Does anyone know why?

Can't answer your question but welcome!
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Steven-A.-McKay/e/B00DS0TRH6/

http://http://stevenamckay.wordpress.com/

Comment

Originally posted by SylentCommando View Post
      ...I bought this used for $140...This guitar was MIJ so why does it have Korean tuners one it? I have seen 1980's and 1990's MIJ Jacksons with these same tuners. Does anyone know why?
      You get what you pay for?

Comment

its all original. except I need new screws for the locking nut. Does anyone know what tremolo came on the DXMG JT580LP or JT585LP?

Comment

They came with both the JT580LP and JT500. I personally couldn't say without seeing a pic, but the 500 has the long screws that stick out the back of the trem.
          Last edited by Mudlark; 03-29-2015, 07:40 AM.
          96xxxxx, 97xxxxx and 98xxxxx serials oftentimes don't indicate '96, '97 and '98.

Comment

Pics? Judging by your description you don't have much to work with.

Comment

I can't even post pictures. Anyway else to upload?

Comment

Welcome to the forum.