Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DK2 or DKMG or DXMG ?

Hello,
    I would like to buy a new Jackson guitar. I am looking at the DK2, DKMG and DXMG. What is the better guitar. I was going to order it mail order. I can use some input.
    Thank you

Re: DK2 or DKMG or DXMG ?

Use search function, newbie.

[img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
    "Quiet, numbskulls, I'm broadcasting!" -Moe Howard, "Micro-Phonies" (1945)

Comment

I'm relatively new to Jacksons (6 months), but I've been studying to buy my second, so I'll take a quick stab.

Quality & price range are generally the same. All 3 have alder body (DK2 & DXMG=standard Dinky, DKMG=carved top), bolt-on rock maple neck w/rosewood fingerboard (DK2 & DXMG=Sharkfin inlays, DKMG=Piranha), and JT580 Low Profile trem (Jackson licensed version of a Floyd Rose Pro). DK2 has classic Jackson headstock and chrome hardware, DKMG & DXMG have reverse headstock and black hardware.

DK2 has Duncan Designed H/S/S pickups, DKMG & DXMG have EMG HZs H/H. The DKMG features EMG Active Turbocharger gain boost, while one version of the DK2, the DK2FS comes with Duncan Firestorm gain boost and another, the DK2S, with Sustainiac.

So basically it comes down to which pickups (Duncan or EMG) and features (Turbocharger, Firestorm, Sustainiac) you like. Otherwise, the differences are aesthetic: body, headstock, hardware, inlays, etc.

Comment

[ QUOTE ]
        Use search function, newbie.

[img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

[/ QUOTE ]
        [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

Ron is right. A search of the Import and General forums should provide you with plenty of feedback about all of these models, plus plenty of head-to-head comparisons between each as well.
        Hail yesterday

Comment

I recommend the Dkmg.

Comment

I like the DXMG

Comment

I would go with a DXMGT unless you really want a floyded guitar.
              RR24M -SLATQH- 2 SLSMG's- DKMGT- 3DXMGT's