Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SL2HT or SLSMG ?

Howdy!

This is my first post!! I post a lot in the Ultimate-guitar forum but they are not very knowledgeable about Jackson guitars. All they talk about is ESP and schecter!!

I've always been a Jackson Guitar fan but thought I wasn't good enough for them... But things changed when I played a DKTMG at a guitar store and when my wife promised me any guitar around $1500 since she got a new Job. Now I want a Jackson too!!

Until 2 days ago, I was bent upon getting a SL2HT in transparent black but my dreams were shattered when all the dealers that I called told me that its gonna be a 3-6 month wait. but I've read so much about the SLSMG on this forum and they are widely available including on eBay that I am considering it too.

I play only metal . I've never owned an Alder body guitar except a fender when i was a noob and did not know what a true Metal sound is. I now own a 5150 and a Ibanez RG350DX and I cosider myself at intermediate level. I am still sceptical of the alder body having the similar low-end punch as a Mahogany.

which one should I get?

1) A SL2HT which will probably cost me around $1800 + 3 to 6 month wait. I want a trans black option only. But I am sceptical about the alder thingy.

2) A SLSMG which has everything that I want except it does not have the traditional Jackson pointed headstock which totally sucks! But because of its all mahogany will it give me a better metal sound?

3) A used SLATQH for $1500 but not in transparent black? There are many posts on this website about the SLATQH but are they really that good? I dont want to pay $1000+ for a used guitar when I can get a good import (SLSMG) for under $1000.

thanks!
    Sam

Welcome to the board!