Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jackson 'Standard' to 'Pro' upgrade issue

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and immediately come forward with a problem/question...

2 years ago I purchased a (second hand) Jackson King V standard, as featured on page 6 of the Jackson 1994-1995 catalog. Not (merely) for the sound, but rather for the cool looks & finishes (I know, I know...), because V-shaped guitars are my favorites (I have been playing a Gibson V for 15 years now and I'm so used to the shape and plan to stick with them).

Problem is that the Jackson sounded quite dull/muffled to me, especially with the upper strings (not much crunch nor shred when playing power chords for example). Not surprisingly, I am used to play EMG pickups, and the Jackson was equipped with standard Jackson (passive) pickups. So I installed a Zakk Wylde EMG set. The sound improved somewhat, but far below my expectations, compared to the Gibson (I even had my DIY-work checked by a pro and already replaced the pickup with the one of my other guitar, unfortunately with no result).

Looking at the specs in the catalog sheet, the wood used for the body of a 'standard' is the same as in a 'pro' (poplar). Only neck and fretboard are different material. Here I have to mention that I also installed a new neck, with the typical Jackson sharkfins and binding (the standards come with no binding and just dots), coming from a Dinky, although this didn't affect the sound neither way (it fitted like a glove, but needed some scale/stop adjustments because of the 24-22 frets).

Could anyone pinpoint the cause of this dull/muffled sound coming out of my Jackson ? Could it be the (licensed) FR-system of which it has been claimed by some to take away "string sound/body resonance" ? Shall I replace it with a fixed-bridge (Gibson style) system (drastic technical adjustment, I know, but I have seen it done before).

Thanx

First off welcome.