Help selecting budget guitar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help selecting budget guitar

I'm looking to get back to playing after about 5 years off. I've been playing for aroud 15 years total and I'm looking at a new 80's metal guitar. Here's the dilemma, I'm likely picking up a Bugera 6260 combo this week and that leaves me around $500-600 to work with. I'm looking at several guitars, including the RR3, RX10, DK2, and DXMG. I'll be heading down to guitar center (Two hours away, I live in the middle of nowhere) to play several different guitars and I want to be up on them before I buy one.

Are the quality of the necks, bodies, and assembly the same for the RR3 and RX10? I can always swap out electronics and pickups, which I'll likely do anyway with either guitar. I see the RX10 has a licensed floyd and not the JT580? I"m guessing the licensed one is crap, can it be replaced with an original floyd, are the dimesions with jackson's trems the exact same?

Next I'm guessing the differences between the DK2 and DXMG in quality will reflect whatever the difference between the RR3 and RX10 are? How do the DK2's compare with the RR3's? Are they the exact same necks?

Lastly I know this is a Jackson site but any advice on the Esp Kirk Hammett KH202, or the Ibanez S320 would also be appreciated, I'm considering those as well.

All things considered I'd love to just pony up and buy a soloist, but I'm very limited at this point, and I'd like to have a nice amp as well. I have around a $1100 budget for both the guitar and amp and I'd rather buy new so I have a warranty at this point. I'm only playing recreational, not playing out and other than jamming with friends I don't have a plan to gig at any point. I haven't ruled out buying a blackheart little giant instead of the bugera to put more cash towards an axe but I'd like to play one first, I like 80's hair stuff and "brown sound" so I'm not sure if I can coax that out of the blackheart or not.