Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting curious about imports.

Hi fellow JCF'ers!

I have been playing Jackson guitars for the past 5-6 years, USA's exclusively. But now i have become curious to what the import line has to offer, and thinking of maybe getting a cheaper Jackson to play around with.

So basically, which imports are worth getting and which are bad?

Also, what is the difference between the current import series, MG, Pro, JS, X etc.?

I hope this post is not too noobish
    Guitars:
    Jackson USA Shannon Soloist (blk)
    Jackson USA Custom Shop SL2H white/Silver Ghost Flames
    Bernie Rico Jr. Hybrid Vixen (blk)
    BC Rich NJ Gunslinger

Amp:
    ENGL Powerball -> ENGL Pro Cab 4*12(V30's)

Here's a brief summary of each:

JS - Lowest of the line. These are basically beginner level guitars. They range from JS1-JS35. There are different shapes such as kellys, warriors and dinkys but hardware wise they're pretty similar. Can't remember where they are made. India perhaps?

X - Not 100% sure where its made. Guessing India again. These guitars are below the MG series. They tend to have duncan designed pickups rather than Seymour Duncans and normally have a JT580LP trem. They have chrome hardware.

MG/'Pro' - Made in Japan. These seem the best bang for buck. Most of these guitars are bolt ons apart from the SLS and the SL series. They have EMGs/SDs. The SL3 has a korean made OFR iirc but the other guitars have JT580LPs.

Hope this helps.
    Guitars:
    Ibanez J-Custom RG8420ZD
    Ibanez S520EX
    Jackson DK2M

Comment

Originally posted by Blazphemer View Post
      Hi fellow JCF'ers!

I have been playing Jackson guitars for the past 5-6 years, USA's exclusively. But now i have become curious to what the import line has to offer, and thinking of maybe getting a cheaper Jackson to play around with.

So basically, which imports are worth getting and which are bad?