Buying Used

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying Used

I've been checking out USA Soloists. If you buy new the price seems really high, around $3k if you go with a transparent color. Used it becomes much more affordable. I've never bought a used guitar before but in this case it seems like it may make sense. If I didn't like it i could sell it for around what I bought it for. Does any disagree and think that new is only way to go? Also, Is there any reason to avoid the whammy bar? Thanks for your help, I'm a Jackson newbie.

Yeah, here's a near new trans blue Soloist for a good price:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Jackson-SL2H...#ht_500wt_1007

"Quiet, numbskulls, I'm broadcasting!" -Moe Howard, "Micro-Phonies" (1945)

Comment

Welcome aboard the JCF. Enjoy your time here - there's plenty to learn and discover. There is nothing wrong with buying used. You'll get great deals in the used market as long as you deal with proper sellers and not scum. The wammy bar is all about preference. Go to a local store and try out guitars with tremolos (whammy bars) and try guitars w/o tremolos, and see which you prefer.

Comment

I totally dig buying new for the sake of just having something new, but you can find really awesome used stuff as well. I'll probably pony up and get a used RR1 sometime in the next year actually. If there's a $1k or more difference between something new and something lightly used, you may as well just grab the used one.

Comment

Used is the only way, I would rather have an original.
          Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Comment

unless the previous owner used it on the road for several years or something, most people take care of their high-end guitars very well. Go used. Save your money for ordering your custom guitar down the lane.
            Sam

Comment

It's a rare day when I buy new. Used gets you a much better guitar many times.

Comment

Originally posted by DonP View Post