About a RR Jackson

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• About a RR Jackson

You know I'm a newbie, Right? Got some questions or advices from you. I saw an USA RR Jackson guitar. It needs some cosmetics fixes wich will be a good therapy for me cause I'm disable though I'm young (got my 33 bithday on Wednesday). It has EMG pickups, Jackson tremolo, and comes with its case. You can check it, so you can advise me rightfully. I forgot the item number but you will recognize it. What do you think? It maybe a good project(with j, is it right Toejam) to me to use my spare time. And the other thing, what do you think about these guitars with neck through body instead of bolt on neck? Wich one do you think is better.
    [img]graemlins/scratchhead.gif[/img] [img]graemlins/eyes.gif[/img]

Re: About a RR Jackson

I think there was a thread regarding neck through vs. bolt on, but that's a touchy issue, my friend.

Here's the facts:

1) A neck through guitar will generally have more sustain that an equal guitar with a bolt-on neck.
    2) Neck through guitars are more expensive to manufacture, so they are typically considered "higher-end".

Here's the opinion

I prefer neck-throughs, and I have an RR1T and an RR5, which are both neck-through models. But, I also dropped some serious scratch for a PC-1, which is a bolt on, and a killer axe.

Some people prefer bolt-ons, some prefer neck-throughs. Some people prefer vanilla, some prefer chocolate. But I prefer vanilla, and in most cases, I prefer neck-through.

I may catch h*ll for the following statement, but I think trems requiring large amounts of body routing (like the Jackson or Floyd Rose) lose a fair amount of sustain because of all of the wood that gets torn out. In that case, a neck-through can help you regain some of lost the sustain.

Just my opinion. If anyone out there disagrees, you can be sure they'll let us know! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

- E.