USA Fusion - fair price??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USA Fusion - fair price??

I've been looking at some USA Fusions on ebay and other places, but it seems that the asking prices are way out there.

Can anyone give me an idea of a fair price for one of these guitars?

One of them on ebay has a few extra switches added, cracked neck pocket (just the finish) and some dings and scratches, yet is looking for more $$ than a nice SL1. He's willing to take offers but I don't want to piss him off by offering 60% less than his asking price, unless of course that's all they're really worth.

I've been watching a number of USA Jacksons go recently for $800 and
    less, including custom shop and Limited Edition models, so it's hard to think that a Fusion would be more, but I'm no expert.

Anyone???

The two fusions on ebay (that you find by searching for 'fusion') are overpriced. The one you mention with extra switches is overpriced as the person thinks serial '230' is low, but the real serial has six digits is 000230 from 1990 Ontario, part of when they started doing 'production runs' of a model in USA.

A friend at work got one just like the ebay blue/green/purple one for $750.

If you are using 'fusion' as a search term, that could be part of your problem, as many people don't know they have a fusion with it's 24-3/4" scale. Look at all Jackson auctions and watch for the key identifiers of a Fusion, the little switch between the volume and tone, the lower horn scarf cut and the close grouping of the pickups. Those three together confirms it. Be careful about just relying on the lower horn scarf cut, as that occassionally appears on guitars that aren't fusions (for example, there was a body thing they did in 1989 that have the scarf cut on 25.5" scale bodies).

Comment