No announcement yet.

Unmarked SD's on SL2H(?); newbie here!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unmarked SD's on SL2H(?); newbie here!

Hi, first post here!

Anyway, I have been playing guitar for a while, ie, over 30 years. And have always used Fenders for the most part, with the occasional Les Paul (but never can get used to the lack of balance in most Gibsons......).

So...........after listening to my brother-in-law prattle on for years about how great Jacksons were, I had to try for my self. So I found this 'brand new' Jackson SL2H on Ebay that I liked.......natural finish, mint, 'brand new,' OHSC, Seymour Duncans, etc. Anyway, I bid and got it for next to nothing......I'll just say it was about $700-800 off the MAP(!) Sometimes the system works for you!

Now, I have had this guitar a few weeks and I gotta say, it's a great instrument..........and I love the neck! Bit getting used to the Rose, cannot rest my palm on the bridge now, ala teles and strats......too sensitive, but I'm adjusting.

Enuff of that gushing for now..........

My real question lies with the pickups. The front pickup looks like a SD, but is not marked on the top. The bridge pu is properly marked with the SEYMOUR DUNCAN logo. Anyway, so I call the seller/dealer and he says he wondered about that himself, and contacted Jackson.....claimed Jackson said there was a run on SD's for Jacksons that did NOT have the SD logo. And yes, it's a SD.

Of course, I pull the pickup and sure enough, as per the markings on the underside, it's a SD '59, SH1N.

Now, I have not gigged this guitar, but it sounds fine so far. Wonder if this was a SD 'second'.......???

Anyone here ever see this thing concerning 'unmarked' SD's?

nope there are some companys that get unmarked ones. my wayne, has an unmarked JB & it sounds great.

Comment