My brand new Cadillac - SD Telly

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My brand new Cadillac - SD Telly

irst of all huge thanks to Val (Zebutcher) in both finding this guitar and helping to make a deal for it! Your efforts are highly appreciated and will be remembered.

When I first saw this guitar I didn't think much of it but somehow I was drawn back to check the pics again and again and again and again. Something started to feel so right about it that I had to get it. The minute I opened the case and strummed the damn thing I knew my gut feeling was right. This is one of those rare monsters that make your body resonate when doing an open G chord.

While waiting for the guitar I went through a bad flu and needed some entertainment while resting on the sofa. So I decided to give 3d modelling a try - just to learn something new. Inspired by this guitars looks I modelled a 1959 Cadillac Coupe DeVille. Not the best of jobs but hey I'm a beginner at this...

Anyway here she finally is after some delays with the always so lovely Finnish PO. 1986 Jackson Custom San Dimas Telly - J1652. All original apart from a replaced tone pot. Huge acoustic sound but the pickups don't sound good at all for some reason. J50B and J100 pair. Sea Foam Green color with matching headstock. Binding over frets.

This guitar was really dirty when I got it. One of those that look like some blues player who plays a gig every night had owned it. Also lots of fretwear. I spent 3-4 hours taking the guitar apart and cleaning each spot. It's like a new guitar now. Just needs a good fret levelling and some pickup changes or connection fixing. Bought from the original owner.

My band here -> http://www.diceoffate.com/

Thats awsome..like the color and binding

Comment

Great-looking guitar, jani. Congrats on the score! Does that make it two Tellys for you now?

Comment

Very cool Jani! You sure know how to pick 'em don't you?
        Popular is not the same as good