waterpump problems.. bummer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• waterpump problems.. bummer

So... I tossed and turned regarding doing the timing belt/waterpump/cam seal/tensioner on my 2000 Neon myself. I am a very thorough mechanic but I just didn't have the time to do it. I brought it to a local shop and they charged me $400.00 labor to do the job. I bought all the best parts according to the recomendations on the neon forum.
    Well.... after about 1000 miles and 2 months later... the DARN WATER PUMP IS LEAKING.
    I noticed a puddle under the car tonight and when I put it up on the ramps the oil pan is wet with coolant and its coming from around where the waterpump is. Its not hoses. The waterpump isn't making any noise.. its just leaking so I am sure they didn't do the gasket correctly or they didn't torque the bolts down correctly. While I was under there I noticed the lower motor mount circular bushing is split in 2 and it wasn't like that before the job was done so obviously they did that too.
    Here is the potential major issue... when I brought the car for them to do and showed them all the parts I bought they said no problem but they wouldn't warranty the parts unless they supplied them. I got the waterpump from Rock Auto and I am sure its the installation and not the pump itself.
    So... what do you guys think? Do I have any chance of them fixing the problem.
    The bummer thing is the car ran perfect and had 104K on it and I did the entire job as preventive maintenance and because the job wasn't done correctly I am up the creek.
    The other bummer is that its a major job to remove the waterpump on this car. Its in back of the timing belt so its like doing a timing belt job.
    I have to go to the repair shop tomorrow morning to hash it out with them and I am asking for some advise on how to handle it.