Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The question no player ever wants to answer - can you really play?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The question no player ever wants to answer - can you really play?

I'm not sure if this is the right forum...but I'm posting here because Jackson/Charvel guitars are kinda synonymous with shredding. So I figured where better to start this thread.

I've been playing for 25 years now. I'm not a great player....I'm a decent player and I admit it. I love to play, I love to write riffs, and to a non-musician, I do shred...but to real players, I'm just a rhythm guy who can play some leads from time to time. I can admit it. But guitarists tend to be a little egotistical...aren't we

I guess I'm bringing it up because I'm looking to start another band (in central jersey...just good 'ol hard rock music..some covers, some originals...you get the point). But in all my years of playing, it's kinda hard to find players who are just sorta laid back. Good players, who know how to write songs, and aren't all about showing off.

I would actually really like to know how you guys view yourselves as players. I certainly am self conscience about my playing...but isn't everyone..at least a little? I'm pretty much self-taught...and I learned in the days when there was no internet..no tabs (or god forbid, video lessons) that I could just pull at the click of a button...

If anything, I'm as much as a collector as a player. Don't get me wrong...I find at least an hour or two every day to play..at some times I'm really proactive about my playing...I practice new stuff, write a lot, etc. Then other times will go by where all I do is practice what I already know...just trying to perfect my playing....although, it never really happens...some days better than others...aint that a bitch