Looking for a great training DVD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for a great training DVD

Hey guys...not sure if this is the right thread to post this in...but of all the different guitar forums that I'm a member of...this one (and maybe the Jemsite forum) are the only places where I think I'll get a good answer.
    I play, primarily, hard rock and metal...some classic, and very little blues. I've been playing for 25 years now...but never really had any formal training. I had a guy who taught me how to play songs...but I never really did any method or theory. My knowledge is very limited. Everything I play, write, learn is by ear. Needless to say, I do feel at this stage of the game, that my abilities are severely limited because of my lack of musical knowledge.

So while I probably know a couple hundred songs, and I've written quite a few riffs as well as complete songs over the years, I always find myself being frustrated that I can't do more. This is especially the case when I watch these guys online...some are active musicians in bands...some are guys from the magazines, etc etc.

Bottom line is...I'm looking for a really good DVD..which goes into theory, but also gives all kinds of riffs/licks...scales, chord progressions, etc. I'm looking for a really good "shred" dvd, if you will. Something that's going to step up my game considerably....help me play better, cleaner, faster, all the while teaching me theory so that I can apply this stuff to my own songs

I really am at that point where I feel like I can play quite a bit...but it's my lack of knowledge that's what's limiting me right now...not a lack of chops.
    But I also am limited in that I'm not real big of tabs...I don't like reading tabs...I much prefer video lessons...which is why I'm looking for a DVD with video tutorials.