Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My 6 yr old is pestering me to let her watch...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My 6 yr old is pestering me to let her watch...

The Walking Dead!

She caught a few glimpses of the Zombies when I was switching channels and everyday, she begs me to let her watch. I started playing a bit of an episode & she saw Michonne slice up a walker's stomach and all guts start falling out. That's where I turned it off. But she saw that and since then she's been telling me that since she did not get any nightmares after watching that, I should let her watch more. I have run out of excuses. HELP!
    Sam

Be the cool dad.
    "Today, I shat a brown monolith ..majestic enough for gods to stand upon" BillZ aka horns666

Comment

It sounds like you want to say no but dont want to be the bad guy. Just say no. I think filling a 6 year olds head with those images is not good. Kids need to be kids as long as possible these days. Too many people rushing to make kids grown up too early.

Comment

Nope be a responsible Dad and let her have her kid time.
        Shows like this are part of the problem with all the nut job kids out there today.
        Parents need to be parents and not their kids best friend.
        I was tough on my girls growing up(single parent) but they respect me and thank me now for being that way.
        Last edited by straycat; 02-27-2013, 02:01 PM.
        Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Comment

Yup, that's what I've been telling her - I don't want you to be an angry adult when you grow up. I'm glad we are in agreement.
          Sam

Comment

Raising kids isn't easy and you can't shelter them forever but at that age you need to keep a close eye on what they see on TV.
            There is so much crap on there and I really feel its part of the reason kids are so messed up right now.

Comment

let her see rambo 2 when she's 7, 28 years later I still haven't killed anyone ....yet