Metal vocals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Metal vocals

Alright, so I've decided I'm never going to find a vocalist for my stuff whom I actually like, so for my own project I've decided to do the vocals myself. I've no experience doing vocals, but I figure everyone has to start somewhere, right? I know alot of it is just "how you are" and you're stuck with what you've got already, but there has to be some sort of technique associated with the stuff. I'm looking to go for something of a Mikeal Akerfeldt/Peter Tagtgren death growl.

So how about it? Any vocalists out there can help me out?

Re: Metal vocals

Monitor yourself while singing, it really helps you to know how to improve your style. Try different ways to make a sound if you can too. Be sure to warm up a little too. Skipping that step will put your voice out of comission in no time. Been there, done that, not doing it again.
    Maybe these examples will help you out:

As for singing Slayer's stuff, it's pretty much just yelling. Nothing complicated about there stuff except it takes ALOT of wind. Again, I monitor myslef to make sure that I'm matching the sound.

Archenemy type: with the technique that I use, it really does not take a lot of wind. You simply use a low growl in the back of your throat. Singing like this is probably the hardest style for me because you must have a very strong jaw and throat. After you start singing a while, your voice my sound like the Disney character Stitch. This is normal, it simply means that your muscles are getting tired in your jaw area and you can't shape the sound like you used to. Just keep practicing and it will go away, but it takes alot of practice. Same goes for Cradle of Filth.

HTH.

Keep rockin! [img]graemlins/headbang.gif[/img]

Comment