Auto Mechanics HELP 5 spd question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Auto Mechanics HELP 5 spd question

1994 Toyota 4x4 pickup. V6-5spd. Recently this problem started. Sometimes when I am at a stop and I put it in gear, I start letting the clutch out and it pops out into neutral. This sometimes happens with third gear too. Not all the time. But enough to worry me. I baby this thing and always have. I refuse to believe the trans is shot at 110,000 miles. Any ideas? [img]/images/graemlins/help.gif[/img]
    Scott
    Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong.

Re: Auto Mechanics HELP 5 spd question

I used to be a certified tech for Toyota, Nissan and BMW.....it sounds to my like a couple of things could be the culprit.

1: The tranny mount is shot allowing the tranny to move and bump itself out of gear.

2: The shifting forks and/or syncronizers are shot. It would be cheaper to just pick one up at a salvage yard and replace it. The parts are about $250-$350 bucks plus labor....that would be about $400-500 for removal and tear down.
    -Lou
    " I do not pay women for sex. I pay for them to leave after the sex ". -Wise words of Charlie Sheen

Comment

Thanks Lou. Not really what I wanted to hear. I just sprang for timing belt, water pump, thermostat, belts etc etc.
      Scott
      Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong.

Comment

Sorry Stuka.....Those are usually the 2 things that cause this problem. If it is the tranny mount....its not big deal....under a hundred usually.