Linux questions.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linux questions.

Ok, Im a linux newb. Ive always wanted to fart around with it but it always seemed too complicated. Now I see some versions of linux that seem to promise a very windows like setup with easy setup. I see one for sale on ebay for cheap that includes all sorts of built in programs and promises more speed and less problems (virus, spyware, etc..), no multi license problems. So, I might go for it, unless someone can point me to the same thing for free. [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] Some questions. Can I run it on a dual boot situation with winxp pro(ntfs). Can I add it to dual boot if the windows installation is already there? Is there linux support for ati video cards(8500LE)? Does linux support USB? I could just build another box for linux but Id like to add it to my main machine so I would actually use it.I have partition magic if I need to create some fat32 space on my drive so thats not a problem. Ive probably opened up a huge can of worms here so all suggestions are welcome.

Re: Linux questions.

Buy Linux?
    You should be able to download an .iso and burn the disk yourself somewhere.
    It's been a long time since I used it, you need to have unpartitioned space on your hdd, and it installs a boot loader during the install.
    I've heard Ubuntu is supposed to be easy to set up.

Comment

download knoppix, run it from the CD and check it out.
      Just download the iso image, burn to CD and reboot, that simple.

Oh, and if you commit to a permanent linux, just have freespace on your drive and it will stick a bootloader in front of windows xp so you can boot to either one.
      When you take a shower in space, you have to press the water onto your body to clean yourself, and then you gotta vacuum it off. - Ace Frehley

Comment

Thanks, I will look into that. What do you think of this?

http://cgi.ebay.com/BOOTDISK-LINUX-SAVE-...1QQcmdZViewItem