Shipping a tube head

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shipping a tube head

I want to sell my Powerball but I have no experience shipping something as monstrous and at the same time as fragile. I dont know if this is a good idea at all. Opinions/experiences appreciated.

I have shipped tube amps. The first thing you do is take the tubes out!!!!!! Next, find the boxes that will allow 4 inches all the way around for packing. I would use a sheet of insulation all the way around.. I don't know the size of your amp. Get your packing squared away first before you throw it up for sale. And go to your shipper first with the size of the box and the weight. Have them tell you $X and add another 30% on the shipping quote on the sale. If it's less, just rebate the difference back. Use Paypal. State that when you do the sale. Insure it but realize that if it isn't packed to withstand falling out of an airplane, you will lose.
    I am a true ass set to this board.

Comment

Fett's right. One detail he omitted is that once you remove the tubes, you in dividually pack them in bubble wrap, then together with more bubble wrap, then put them back into the back of the head, making sure there's enough bubble wrap that they don't move around. That's the safest place for them and saves you having to send the tubes in a separate box.
      Ron is the MAN!!!!

Comment

What he said.

Comment

Thanks a lot guys.
          Do they ship these things in wooden boxes or something? I just cant imagine putting it in a cardboard box no matter how stable it is...lift the box and the amp is still standing on the floor...

Comment