Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

In a tough spot... need career advise...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In a tough spot... need career advise...

As the bills keep piling up, Ive been thinking about this more and more... and I honestly dont know what to do. One year ago, I was laid off from my 5+ year job at Lockheed Martin. Since then, Ive been struggling to make ends meet. There are alot of things I do... most Im great at... some I love, some I dont.

First and foremost, Im a professional electronics assemblyman. I did it for 5 years straight, theres pretty much nothing I cant build... give me the parts, give me the schematics, and Ill build it. I can design and run an assembly line and boost the effeciencies through the roof, while almost eliminating defects. I can do electronics QA too. I love doing it, all of it. Thats great and all, but it seems like that industry is slowly dying in this country.

Then Im great with computers... MCP certified, blah blah blah... I know my way around a network. Love doing that, but I dont have an official degree that says so... so thats out.

Then, youve got what Im doing now... carpentry and tile work. Im really great with tile, everyone loves my work. But its hell on the body, and to be honest I really dont enjoy doing it all the time. I currently work for my stepfather.

Then theres working on guitars... my favorite hobby. Obviously from past experience Im great with the wiring, can do setups and minor woodworking... havent gotten into finishing or fretwork because I really dont have the room for it.

Since I got laid off, Ive been doing carpentry/tile ever since... its BARELY paying the bills. The physical demand part I dont mind. Ive got a mortgage Ive gotta worry about, my savings is all but depleted, credit card bill is rising... Only way I buy gear is to sell other gear to get the money for it now.