Super Computer help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Super Computer help!

Hello guys, this is for all you computer freaks... I'm in urgent need of having some questions answered regarding my new computer which I'm going to build by myself (buying parts).

Okay, I'm an architect so I use AutoDesk software such as AutoCAD and 3DSMax which require powerful componets. I also play in a band and I will use my computer for recording music. I also like playing video games.

Here are the questions:

MOTHERBOARD:

Intel D975XBX2 (Extreme Series) OR Asus Striker Extreme ?

PROCESSOR:

Intel Core 2 QUAD OR Intel Extreme Core 2 QX6850 ?

GRAPHICS CARD:

XFX Nvidia 8800 Ultra OR ASUS Nvidia 8800 Ultra OR MLI Nvidia 8800 Ultra ?

MEMORY:

Kingston Hyper 4gb of memory? Which "model" is the best ?.

Okay guys, BEFORE YOU FLAME ME, I know there are major differences between the "options" asked on each "category" in terms of price and power. But, have in mind that I'm not a "hardcore gamer", I just play some games eventually, but I do need a powerful graphics card for rendering and doing my CAD work... not having to enter into the super expensive QUADRA cards, but I want to have the best quality in the 8800 Ultra version, that's why I'm basically asking which of the manufacturers is better: XFX, ASUS or MLI. Regarding the processor, I know the Extreme is better, but is it THAT different from the Core 2 Duo QUAD ? Will it improve the overall computer THAT much (I mean, paying twice the price?). Regarding the motherboard.. What's the BIG difference between the Intel and the Asus Striker ? I mean, isn't it "better" to have both motherboard and processor from the same brand (INTEL) ?

Let me know guys, this is important, I'm looking to spend no more than 1800 US dollars on this (just the computer), I'm not asking about the hard drives, DVD units, soundcards etc because I've already made my mind up about those.

Thanks in advance!

Anyone ?

Comment

IMO...