Guys, lend me your ears...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guys, lend me your ears...

I'm not playing on any of it, but my nephew's band Without a Trace have been recording their stuff at my house, and I've been screwing around with the mix of the first tune tonight. I would like some suggestions on the mix as its my first time at the controls... The song is a bit on the EMO side, but I would really appreciate it if you guys took the time to check it out and give me your input on what I can do to improve the sound of it. The kick and cymbals are really giving me a tough time. One guitar is my Soldano Avenger (Plays the main rhythm figure) and the other is my Dual Rectifier. both guitars are going through my Recto 4x12 and close miked at a 45 degree angle using a Shure SM57. All instruments were recorded using a Presonus Firestudio project into the Cubase 4LE. The song is called "In My Hands" and should be first on the list. Ignore the other two tunes up there They are demos of tunes I wrote a couple of years ago.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/defa...?bandID=593713
    Last edited by khabibissell; 02-02-2008, 11:26 PM.

Best Song: In My hands. Very Radio friendly. Good hook.
    Best Riff: Love Will Linger. Great sounding guitar riff.

Comment

OK, I actually read your post.
      The mix sounds real good. The vocals are always the most difficult to mix, but it sounds like the vocal ability is good. The levels sound right to my ears. They are demo's, but apporach pro quality. I would call it "college radio staion airplay quality", which is not an easy feat.

Comment

Thanks for the reply! I haven't added any reverb, compression, etc... to it yet. I'm not sure if I'm going to at this point because their band has alot of power live and I wanted to try and capture that live feel when we record. The drums are a real challenge to get sounding good... miking them is an art and plays such a huge role in the sound.