Bad wrist and cramps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bad wrist and cramps

I have been playing bass and guitar for 8 years with a break of 2 years in between. I got in a quad accident when I was sixteen (23 now) and broke my left wrist in a couple places. It seems like I can only play guitar for 15 minutes to an hour before my wrist "freezes" for 5 minutes or more and hurts like hell, more than a cramp. I have taken a couple lessons at different times to try to correct my posture, got the keep wrist strait among other suggestions, which helped a little. Bass I can play for hours because my left hand is constantly moving. Could this "freezing" and shooting pain (really fucking bad!) be just bad technique or my wrist? I am assuming a little of both. It gets really discouraging ya know. Comments/ideas?

How's your technique as far as fretting? How hard are you fretting the notes? Is there a lot of tension in your hand when you're playing? Keeping the wrist straight is pretty important in my opinion.

How do you play your guitar while sitting? I'd recommend playing in a more classical position if you're not already doing so. As in you have the guitar held on your left leg which is generally supported by some sort of foot stool, with the bottom of the guitar resting on your right leg. The idea is to have the guitar in a central position on your body. It helps insure that the guitar is in a stable place and that both hands can freely move around the instrument and meet all technical demands without having to support the instrument. It's also a pretty good position to eliminate an sort of muscular tension while playing. Here's a picture of it if I did a shitty job explaining it:
    http://www.learnclassicalguitar.com/...sition%202.jpg