Girls Girls Girls

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Girls Girls Girls

I need to learn Girls, Girls, Girls by the Crue and wondered what tuning people use for it. I am trying to do this by ear of Mick but I have seen transcriptions in the past that had it in Drop D. Just wondering what the 'right' way is.

I started playing it in Drop-D tonight but tried it in standard tuning as well. Drop-D seems easier but wasn't sure if it was as Mick plays it. Just wondering what people play it in and if one ends up being better in the long run once you get into the fills and solos.
    http://www.jacknapalm.com/

I just gave GGG a listen and I think he used standard A440.
    Never tried to play that one before, so I can't say which would be better.

I just figured out Primal Scream a few weeks ago... not hard, but very fun to play.
    It's standard tuning as is just about every other Crue song I've learned.
    Mick loves open G slides and that doesn't work to well with drop D tuning.
    -Rick

Comment

Most Motley is tuned down a full step - so standard down a full step. Not aware of them ever really using drop-D.
      -------------------------
      Blank yo!

Comment

I believe as Granturk said; GCGFAD tuninng. (?) I think that's what I do when I plat it.
        Ratt & Roll

Comment

what the hell is GCGFAD? Drop C would be CGCFAD, but Turk said standard down a whole step, which would be DGCFAD.
          Hail yesterday

Comment

Thanks everyone. I never thought about it being a full step down. Makes perfect sense though. Many Crue songs were a full step down. I'll try that tonight and see how it goes.

Comment

I just use a drop D tuning for it. it might not be the totally accurate way, but it works. I just use a EVH D tuna. it does the job. for my ears anyway. I am not going to set up a Floyded guitar in full D tuning. too much PITA for one song.
              "clean sounds are for pussies" - Axewielder

Comment