E Minor is B ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• E Minor is B ?

So I was jamming out a riff last night - you know, making a backing track to solo along to - and its Bm, Cm, F#, Bm, Cm, Em - nothing too complex and not pumping the E or anything.

So anyway - I was noodling around, and obviously B minor doesn't work too well there because you've got C# instead of C. Anyway, so what I found is that Em worked real well over it. Now, since I'm in the key of B, what "mode" am I using?
    -------------------------
    Blank yo!

wouldn't B-minor have a F#m instead of a F# in it?

anyway, if e minor is your aeolian mode, going from B would mean you're in phrygian mode.
    but eerrmmm... I'm not good at that...
    tremstick give-away (performer series trem)

Comment

Originally posted by micha View Post
      wouldn't B-minor have a F#m instead of a F# in it?
      Yeah - technically I'm just playing root-fifth power chords anyway - so I guess its not really minor.

So E Minor = B Phrygian?
      Blank yo!

Comment

yep, it's neither minor nor major without a third in it.

I think it should be B phrygian.
        if you follow the phrygian scale diagram

you'll get B C D E F# G A B
        which has the same tonal content as G-major or E-minor.
        tremstick give-away (performer series trem)

Comment

Cool - thanks!
          Blank yo!

Comment

I'll have to try this when I get home!
            "Quiet, numbskulls, I'm broadcasting!" -Moe Howard, "Micro-Phonies" (1945)

Comment

Modes don't easily apply to this "chord progression" because none of the modes have two minor chords a half step apart.

Comment

Em is the realive minor of the key of G. Bm is the 3rd of G, i your putting emphasis on the B note yout are playing the B phrygian mode.