Help Improving Originality for Solos

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Improving Originality for Solos

Alright, Im officially over it. Ive spent the last 4 years pretending Im a lead guitarist, and Im sick of it. My solos suck and are boring. Its always the same, start with the root note of the key, usually on the A string, proceed to run through a butchered harmonic minor scale, in the box and end on the root note of the key. Furthermore, I do a lot of fast alternate picking of 3 or 4 notes and maybe the occasional bend up a whole step.

I cant stand it anymore. My solos are rudimentary, and boring. Nothing original, all stock scale runs that all sound pretty much the same. A monkey could easily learn my solos.

Is there anything you guys can do to help my think outside the box and be a little more original? Any help would be appreciated. I just spent 30 minutes beating my head against the wall trying to solo over stuff, I sounded like a 14 year old in GC, if I went outside of my "box". The notes fit, but made no sense, no emotion, no soul. HELP!!!!!
    HTTP 404 - Signature Not Found

Just add a wah pedal to your signal chain throw in some tapping runs and harmonic divebombs and you're set. That's what i do anyway and it sounds good to me. :think:
    It's all about the blues-rock chatter.

Originally posted by RD
    ...so now I have this massive empty house with my Harley, Guns, Guitar and nothing else...

Comment

How much do you practice/ play?
      Sometimes playing too much can completely do your head in! That`s what sometimes happens to me anyway...

We all get in `ruts` man...
      I find when I`m in a bad rut I just put my guitars away and don`t even think about it for maybe a few weeks or a month... I seem to come back with some fresher ideas and a better overall approach/ attitude...

Of course you can`t always do this if you have band commitments...

Comment