ESP has cursed my picking hand

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ESP has cursed my picking hand

I recently purchased a Jackson KV2 and the guitar is not my first flying V. I've been playing ESP axes for about 5 years before switching back to Jackson and I am having a real hard time playing the KV2.

My picking hand is going all over the place and no matter how hard I try to relax and concentrate I just end up butchering everything I play. Reign in blood, war ensamble, disposable heroes, comes out great if I play my ESP viper camo. Plug in my KV2 and my picking hand goes to hell.

18 years of jamming thrash and shredding and my KV2 decides to send my right hand back to school. God is this ever frustrating and humbling. I can just hear the Jackson gods telling me "Bend over punk, grab those ankles and scream OH YEAH cause here comes daddy"!

I now know why ESP's are so popular, they allow you to get sloppy. I got some serious practice time ahead of me to whip my picking hand back into shape, and what a flogging it will be [img]/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img]

Re: ESP has cursed my picking hand

Dude: Don't fret it! You will have it in no time. Just a different feel that you will get use to.

I have similar problems when I play something in a music store. Have a hard time getting use to some guitars and sound like shit at first - and I have been playing about 30 years.

I think it is a normal thing.

One more thing - you may have to adjust some of the settings on your rig to accomodate a different guitar. You may find yourself sounding cleaner if you make adjustments.
    PLAY TILL U DIE !!!

Comment

So true shredmonster. Just takes some time to get used to. The ESP curse thing was a joke meant in good taste. Different guitar's different feel. I'm just surprised how much it's messing with me.

Comment