on the verge of quitting guitar...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• on the verge of quitting guitar...

hello everyone...ive been playing for over 6 years now...and one would think that i should be able to shred all over the place but for some reason my playing, in terms of improving reached a standstill about a year ago and my picking is still sloppy, im stuck in the same harmonic minor or major scales and i just cant churn out any different sounding riffs no matter how hard i try. at this point ure prolly thinking i havent tried hard enuff to learn new scales etc...but i have. but its like im glued to my current style...which frankly im not fond of...i listen to stuff like CoB but come out with riffs like freeking hammerfall. its so frustrating that im beginning to think i dont have what it takes to be a good player. as far as technique goes i started sweeping 2 years back and i STILL have to stick to arpeggios i already know (which are quite cheesy) and i just keep modifying them a little...u have no idea how pissing off all this is...i mean 6 years!!! dammit shouldnt i have been playing vai etc???

Re: on the verge of quitting guitar...

do you drink much?

Comment

if that was a joke, im not going to humor it. if u were serious, no i dont.

Comment

well, I'll tell you what. I have tapes and two demo cd's to prove that for some reason, high or drunk, I play better shit, faster, with more inspiration. I'm not telling you to go be a junky, or become a drunk, but I know if I'm going to write with a band, i'm usually drinking when I walk in.
        fyi, for what is worth, I've been playing guitar for 9 years, in and out of quite a few bands. I for one don't want you to quit playing, and I don't even know you [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
        So i'll start here: Are you in a band? if not, then start there, I can't tell you how it helped my playing.

Comment