What do you suggest?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you suggest?

I have been playing rhythm guitar for about 9 years now, without playing many leads at all. I am getting bored and would like to start playing faster lead type stuff. How would you guys recommend I start?

Thanks in advance to any useful posts.

Dana

Practice your alternate picking. Slowly. You can do it with scales and/or patterns. This is the basis for most metal leadwork. Make up runs that cross strings. Slowly. Avoid sweep picking for the time being.

Note what I wrote up there again. Take it slow. You are learning technique, not speed. Once you have the technique down, you can start increasing the speed. You don't want to develop sloppiness in your technique, or you will sound like ass. When you start playing faster, you will probably start noticing missed notes or slop at some point. Then you need to turn the tempo back down again, and make sure you are playing each note cleanly. It will take time to see the results, but they will come.

Many people suggest training alternate picking with a metronome, starting at a slow pace. I have never done that. I think it's probably a good method for reaching results quickly - it's just that it bores me to tears.

Practice bending and vibrato. Try to reach the same note with each bend. Again, slow. You will want to develop a strong, steady and slow vibrato. Fast vibratos generally don't sound very thrilling. Try to use a swivelling motion in your wrist to perform the bends/vibrato. This gives you more power and momentum. If you find it painful or difficult to bend with just one finger - then use two on the same string.

Try to be as lighthanded as you can. Eventually you will want your fingers to fly, and this isn't possible if you've practiced in the "grip of death". Plus, it may cause strain injuries down the road.